Monday, April 4, 2011

Lamberti leads local quartet on Boys All-State Basketball Team

South Fayette senior Mike Lamberti – the first four-time selection to the Observer-Reporter All-District first team – is now a three-time all-state selection.

The 6-6 forward and West Liberty recruit was a first-team Class AAA selection in the 2010-11 Pennsylvania sports writers' boys all-state high school basketball team. The team is chosen by a statewide panel.

Lamberti was a second-team Class AA pick last year and a third-team pick as a sophomore.

Trinity's Josh Valentic may be the first boys player in school history to earn all-state recognition. The shooting guard and Wheeling Jesuit recruit with a 30-point average was a second-team pick.

South Fayette's Pat Zedreck - the O-R Player of the Year - was a third-team pick.

Monessen's Cam Johnson, who elevated his play during the Greyhounds' run to the WPIAL Class AA title and PIAA semifinals, was a second team pick.

The 2010-11 Pennsylvania sports writers’ boys all-state high school basketball team, as chosen by a statewide panel. (Player, school, height, class, scoring avg.)
Ryan Arcidiacono, Neshaminy, 6-4, jr, 20.4 ppg
Jaylen Bond, Plymouth-Whitemarsh, 6-7, sr, 19.0 ppg
Aaron Brown, Penn Wood, 6-5, sr, 19.0 ppg
Darrun Hilliard, Bethlehem Liberty, 6-5, sr, 19.8 ppg
Kelvin Parker, York, 6-4, sr, 19.7 ppg
Devin Thomas, Central Dauphin, 6-8, jr, 21.4 ppg
Cory Blake, Rustin, 6-4, sr, 16.0 ppg
Jalen Cannon, Allentown Allen, 6-5, sr, 20.0 ppg
Devon Cottrell, Gateway, 6-7, sr, 18.1 ppg
Anthony Dallier, North Allegheny, 6-6, jr, 24.0 ppg
Eddie Mitchell, La Salle College, 6-0, sr, 16.1 ppg
Aaron Morgan, Council Rock North, 6-0, jr, 14.6 ppg
Terry Turner, Scranton, 6-7, jr, 17.1 ppg
Tynell Fortune, Pocono Mountain West, 5-9, sr, 20.0 ppg
Four McGlynn, Dallastown, 6-1, sr, 23.8 ppg
Maurice Nelson, Chester, 5-11, sr, 13.8 ppg
Jordan Swauger, Hollidaysburg, 6-3, sr, 19.3 ppg
Geno Thorpe, Shaler, 6-3, so, 17.5 ppg
Erikk Wright, Chester, 6-3, jr, 10.8 ppg
Mike Zangari, Red Land, 6-9 1/2, jr, 18.7 ppg
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jaylen Bond, Plymouth-Whitemarsh
COACH OF THE YEAR: Larry Yarbray, Chester

Lamin Fulton, Neumann-Goretti, 5-9, sr, 15.5 ppg
Juan’ya Green, Archbishop Carroll, 6-3, sr, 20.8 ppg
Mike Lamberti, South Fayette, 6-6, sr, 17.9 ppg
Micah Mason, Highlands, 6-3, jr, 34.0 ppg
Andrew Nicholas, Eastern York, 6-6, sr, 21.4 ppg
Jerrell Wright, Dobbins Tech, 6-8, sr, 20.0 ppg
Muhammad Ali Abdur-Rahkman, Allentown Central Catholic, 6-3, fr, 14.0 ppg
Peter Alexis, Holy Redeemer, 6-11, sr, 20.5 ppg
John Davis, Neumann-Goretti, 6-4, so, 13.4 ppg
A.J. Dean, Susquehanna Twp, 6-4, sr, 21.0 ppg
Joe Getz, Archbishop Wood, 6-0, sr, 21.0 ppg
Brendan Kilpatrick, Malvern Prep, 6-5, jr, 16.2 ppg
Josh Valentic, Trinity, 6-5, sr, 30.3 ppg
Lamont Clark, Octorara, 5-10, sr, 15.5 ppg
Luke Gallaher, Forest Hills, 6-0, sr, 24.2 ppg
Derrick Stewart, Neumann-Goretti, 6-5, jr, 11.7 ppg
Austin Tillotson, Eastern York, 6-0, sr, 13.9 ppg
Phil Wenger, Lancaster Catholic, 6-1, sr, 12.6 ppg
Devin Wilson, Montour, 6-3, so, 12.6 ppg
Pat Zedreck, South Fayette, 6-0, sr, 15.5 ppg
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Juan’ya Green, Archbishop Carroll
COACH OF THE YEAR: Adam Kaufman, Montour

David Appolon, Imhotep Charter, 6-3, sr, 10.3 ppg
Devin Coleman, Friends Central, 6-3, sr, 15.6 ppg
Amile Jefferson, Friends Central, 6-8, jr, 17.7 ppg
Sheldon Jeter, Beaver Falls, 6-7, jr, 24.9 ppg
Daniel Ochefu, Westtown, 6-9, jr, 16.0 ppg
Ameen Tanksley, Imhotep Charter, 6-5, sr, 12.7 ppg
Erik Copes, Imhotep Charter, 6-8, sr, 7.8 ppg
Jimmy Hammer, Germantown Academy, 6-2, sr, 19.5 ppg
Ky Howard, Shipley School, 6-3, sr, 18.9 ppg
Cam Johnson, Monessen, 6-6, sr, 12.5 ppg
Jerry Kincel, Riverside, 6-2, jr, 22.3 ppg
Kevin Montminy, Penns Valley, 6-3, sr, 21.5 ppg
Jesse Reed, Greensburg Central Catholic, 6-5, sr, 18.5 ppg
Tommy Armillay, Riverside, 6-3, sr, 15.3 ppg
Tyler Bogaczyk, Loyalsock, 6-5, sr, 18.0 ppg
Matt Brozewicz, Seneca, 6-4, sr, 27.7 ppg
Brady Burke, Pine Grove, 6-5, sr, 14.8 ppg
Rich Hoskins, Communications Tech, 6-1, jr, 14.2 ppg
Josh Vigneault, Central Cambria, 6-1, sr, 28.5 ppg
Pete Yingst, Hanover, 5-10, sr, 22.8 ppg
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Amile Jefferson, Friends Central
COACH OF THE YEAR: Andre Noble, Imhotep Charter

Rakeem Christmas, Academy of the New Church, 6-9, sr, 9.4 ppg
Savon Lloyd-Goodman, Academy of the New Church, 6-5, jr, 13.4 ppg
Donovon Jack, Reading Central Catholic, 6-9, jr, 16.2 ppg
Chaquille Pratt, Lincoln Park, 6-3, sr, 22.7 ppg
Jabril Trawick, Abington Friends, 6-5, sr, 20.4 ppg
Damien Williams, Phelps, 6-5, jr, 16.1 ppg
Warren Dogan, Math, Civics & Sciences, 6-2, sr, 12.5 ppg
Dylan Gravatt, Rocky Grove, 6-4, sr, 21.9 ppg
Xavier Harris, Constitution, 6-5, sr, 14.6 ppg
Wes Lyons, Millville, 6-5, sr, 27.6 ppg
Daiquan Walker, Constitution, 6-1, jr, 17.7 ppg
Devontae Watson, Lincoln Park, 6-10, jr, 16.0 ppg
Jeremiah Worthem, Math, Civics & Sciences, 6-6, so, 14.8 ppg
Luke Berguson, Mansfield, 6-3, sr, 18.1 ppg
John Bray, Vincentian, 6-4, sr, 19.2 ppg
Craig Ciranni, Homer-Center, 6-4, sr, 23.9 ppg
Marcus Dawkins, Reading Central Catholic, 6-3, sr, 14.2 ppg
Cameron Hinkel, Greenwood, 6-3, sr, 15.0 ppg
Markeith Mont, World Communications, 6-5, sr, 17.1 ppg
Howard Sellars, Church Farm, 6-0, so, 15.0 ppg
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Rakeem Christmas, Academy of the New Church
COACH OF THE YEAR: George Yokitis, Vincentian

Follow me on Twitter:!/TheMikeKovak


Anonymous said...

ya but Pavan beat out Bellhy for POY in the section....

mike_kovak said...

So I've heard.

Anonymous said...


How come you didnt post your all district teams? I know they were in the paper but not everyone gets it.



mike_kovak said...

I'll get them up today Yancey.